The New West Partnership Trade Agreement (NWPTA) is an accord between the Governments of British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba that creates Canada's largest, barrier-free, interprovincial market.

Under the NWPTA, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba are the first jurisdictions in Canada to commit to full mutual recognition or reconciliation of their rules affecting trade, investment or labour mobility so as to remove barriers to the free movement of goods, services, investment, and people within and between the three provinces. The NWPTA builds on the Trade, Investment and Labour Mobility Agreement (TILMA) between British Columbia and Alberta and has the clarity Saskatchewan was seeking on public ownership of Crowns and the ability of municipalities to support economic development.
The NWPTA came into effect July 1, 2010 and has been fully implemented since July 1, 2013.

The first Protocol of Amendment to the NWPTA was signed in January 2015. The Protocol clarified language around labour mobility and dispute resolution provisions, and introduced a bid protest mechanism effective July 1, 2015.

British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan Manitoba have also committed to:

  • Avoid measures that operate to restrict or impair trade between or through their territories, or investment or labour mobility between them.

  • Treat businesses, investors and workers of the other two provinces at least as favourably as they treat their own or those of another jurisdiction.

  • Mutually recognize or otherwise reconcile unnecessary differences in their standards and regulations.

  • Be fully transparent, and notify each other of any proposed measure that is covered by the Agreement. The objective is to ensure that new measures do not create new impediments.

  • Having an enforceable dispute resolution mechanism that is accessible by governments, businesses, workers and investors in order to ensure that each province lives up to its commitments.

You have reached the official website of the New West Partnership Trade Agreement.
A partnership among the Governments of British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba
Copyright 2016 Government of British Columbia / Government of Alberta / Government of Saskatchewan / Government of Manitoba, Canada

The user agrees to the terms and conditions set out in the Copyright and Disclaimer Statement