International and interprovincial trade impediments, including unnecessary red tape, cost businesses and investors time and money.

Under the NWPTA, the Governments of British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba:

  • Eliminated residency requirements
  • Made it easier for professionals and tradespeople to have their qualifications recognized.
  • Lowered the thresholds for open and non-discriminatory government procurement, which will provide will businesses with more bidding opportunities.
  • Enacted strict, enforceable subsidy rules.
  • Introduced monetary penalties against governments that willfully disregard their commitments.

Businesses faced fewer difficulties recruiting needed workers from the other NWPTA provinces and gained access to more government procurement opportunities on an equal footing with suppliers from the NWPTA provinces.

A seamless business registration and reporting process was also put in place among British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan to allow businesses to operate in all three provinces without the added costs of establishing a second or third office, meeting duplicative registration and reporting requirements, satisfying unnecessarily different standards and regulations, or seeking additional permits to operate. This process will include Manitoba by January 1, 2020.

Registry Contacts:

British Columbia Corporate Registry contacts:
Phone: 1-877-526-1526
Alberta Corporate Registry
Phone: 780-427-7013
Saskatchewan Corporations Branch
Phone: 306-787-2962
Manitoba Companies Office
Phone: 204-945-2500 | Toll Free: 1-888-246-8353

Frequently Asked Questions

You have reached the official website of the New West Partnership Trade Agreement.
A partnership among the Governments of British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba
Copyright 2016 Government of British Columbia / Government of Alberta / Government of Saskatchewan / Government of Manitoba, Canada

The user agrees to the terms and conditions set out in the Copyright and Disclaimer Statement